The 2021 SXSW Film Festival featured a diverse slate of high-caliber films, ranging from debut productions by new independent filmmakers to Hollywood comedies and genre standouts.

The 28th annual SXSW Film Festival is just around the corner. This year, the acclaimed program will be an element of SXSW Online from March 16–20, 2021, where it will draw thousands of fans, filmmakers, press, and industry leaders to immerse themselves in Film Screenings, Conference Sessions, Music Showcases, Comedy, Online Exhibitions, Mentoring, Meetups, and Special Events that that come to define the cross-industry event.

MPC’s New York and Bangalore teams worked in close collaboration with director Floyd Russ to provide 2D VFX and compositing on SXSW headliner Ayar. In the film we see first-generation American Latina, returns home to reunite with her daughter. But when her mother, Renata, refuses to let her see her due to Covid, Ayar is confronted by the many roles she’s been forced to play, including the role in this film.


Director – Floyd Russ

Screenwriters – Ariana Ron Pedrique, Floyd Russ, Vilma Vega

Producers – Kara Durrett, Floyd Russ, Corey Waters, Andy Coverdale


Actors – Ariana Ron Pedrique, Vilma Vega, Henry Foster Brown, Simon Haycock, Calliah Sophie Estrada, Pete Pano, Briza Covarrubias, Ceasar Hartman, Jay Lawrence Kiman, Frances Fuches (World Premiere)


Creative director – Alvin Cruz

2D leads – David Piombino, Tom McCullough

Concept artist – Roger Hom

Executive producer – Angela Lupo

Producer – Chris Preston Barnes

Conform artist – Remy Benedetti

Line Producer – Zahid Khan

Production Coordinator – Sakshi Gaur, Rithika Iyer

3D Supervisor – Parthiban E, Kunal Sarkar

Asset Team

Artists – Vaibhav Gupta, Sandeep BK, Sunil Manohar Mohapatra, Gangadhar Durga Molleti

DMP Team

Artists – Gowri Shankar Velusamy D, Mohan Rao, Vamsi M

FX – Ashwath Thiraviam

Lighting – Aritra Sarkar

2D Supervisor – Siju Murugan, David Rouxel

Prep Supervisor – Silambarasan P

Prep – Joshi John, Prasanth Palaparthi

Compositing Team

Artists – Rajesh Kaushik, Sabanayagam V, Michael Glen, Abhilash A, Srikanth Akula, Mangesh Borkar, Udaykiran Chowdary, Anand Swain, Rajinikanth R, Venkatesan Srinivasan